NEW:   CORPORAL GANDER'S FIRE DOG BRIGADE - On The Rocks - LP Longhair  •  TRIGON - 30 Jahre Traumzeit - CD Trigon  •  THE FIRST INTERNATIONAL SEX OPERA BAND - Anita - LP (colour) Golden Pavilion  •  HANS FRISCH - Levende Opjekten Sjooo - LP (orange) Golden Pavilion  •  VESPERO - Azmari - LP 2016 (splatter) Golden Pavilion  •  CAROL OF HARVEST - Carol Of Harvest - CD Strange Noise + Bonustracks  •  CAROL OF HARVEST - Carol Of Harvest - LP Strange Noise + Bonustracks  •  ELECTRIC ORANGE - Unterwasser Vol. 2 - 2 LP (red/black marble) Adansonia Records  •  YOUNG FLOWERS - On Air - 2 LP Longhair  •  BRÖSELMASCHINE - It Was 50 Years Ago Today - 5 CD+ 2 DVD boxset MadeInGermany  •  FLIBBERTIGIBBET - Whistling Jigs To The Moon - CD Sommor  •  FLIBBERTIGIBBET - Whistling Jigs To The Moon - LP Sommor  •  BRANKER, TONY - For The Children - LP Out Sider  •  JODI - Pop Espontaneo - CD Out Sider Out Sider  •  JODI - Pop Espontaneo - LP Out Sider  •  GLASGOW COMA SCALE - Enter Oblivion - CD Tonzonen  •  HEAVY MOON - Aka Infinity 2007 - 2018 CD Clostridium  •  MAAT LANDER - Seasons Of Space ~book # 2 - CD Clostridium  •  BRENNENTE - Brennente - CD Herzberg Verlag  •  LAVA 303 - Goddess Rules - CD Herzberg Verlag  •  STAGG - SWF- Session 1974 - CD Longhair  •  UNISONO QUARTET/TAIVAANTEMPPELI - Jazz - LIISA 1/2 - CD Svart  •  UHRIJUHLA - Jokainen On Vapaa Lintu - CD Svart  •  TUSMORKE - Fort Bak Lyset - CD Svart  •  PAAVOHARJU - Joko Sinä Tulet Tänne Alas Minä Nousen Sinne - CD Svart  •  RICHARDSON, JOHN - The Fold - CD Svart  •  EXPLODING EYES ORCHESTRA - I - CD Svart  •  SEREMONIA - Kristalliarkki - CD Svart  •  TOLONEN, JUKKA - & Ramblin' Jazz Band/kom Quartet - JAZZ LIISA 3 & 4 CD Svart  •  VARIOUS - Today Is A Good Day - CD Herzberg Verlag  •  >SOON:  

NEIL ARDLEY - A Symphony Of Amaranths - LP 1972 WahWah

Price: EUR 20.16 (incl. VAT) plus shipping

Shipping cost Germany: EUR 4.50
Shipping cost EU: EUR 6.50
Shipping cost international: EUR 6.50

Show all available 0 items of NEIL ARDLEY
Show all available 103 items from the WahWah label
Show all available 4 CDs from the WahWah label
Show all available 99 LPs from the WahWah label

This item is temporarily out of stock

I'm interested in this item!
Question about this item
Tell a friend about this item


Jazzrock /
Manufacturer: WahWah
Original release year: 1969
Manufacturing year: 2018
Cat. Nr.: WBSLP016
Weight:280 g
Processing time:unknown
Link auf die Plattform der EU-Kommission zur Online-Streitbeilegung:

When we did the first ever vinyl reissue of this 1972 masterpiece back in 2012 it sold out so fast and so many lost the chance to grab a copy has translated into continuous messages asking us to do a repressing of this marvel. Well, at last here it is!

One of the big names in UK Jazz, Neil Ardley was offered the leadership of the seminal New Jazz Orchestra in 1964. Under his direction the Orchestra moved though different styles and changes of personnel, bringing in musicians such as Mike Gibbs (trombone), Harry Beckett andHenry Lowther (trumpets) or even Jack Bruce (bass), some of them also contributed with the writing of some original compositions, making the NJO the root from which the UK's 70's jazz scene was to blossom.

By 1972 the NJO was already defunct, but his legacy remained in the works of its members. Ardley's 'A Symphony Of Amaranths' is a perfect example of what was boiling in the UK jazz scene. It was Ardleys tribute to his idols Duke Ellington and Gil Evans, and featured the skills of some great musicians of the scene including Don Rendell,Stan Tracey, Henry Lowther, Harry Beckett, Jeff Clyne & Jon Hiseman. Side B is inspired by the words of Edward Lear, W. B. Yeats, James Joyce and Lewis Carroll that are musicated by Ardley and feature, among other highlights, Ivor Cutler's narration of 'The Dong With A Luminous Nose' and Norma Winstone's vocals on 'Will You Walk A Little Faster'.

En 2012 reeditamos esta maravilla por primera vez en vinilo desde su edición original en 1972. La rapidez con la que se vendió entonces y la cantidad de gente que se quedó sin copia se tradujo en constantes peticiones de que volviéramos a editarlo. Pues por fin aquí está de nuevo!

Uno de los grandes nombres del UK Jazz, Neil Ardley dirigió la New Jazz Orchestra entre 1964 y 1970, año de la disolución de esta influyente big band inglesa. Bajo su batuta la NJO se movió con comodidad entre diferentes estilos y dió ocasión de despuntar a músicos de la talla de, entre otros, Mike Gibbs (trombón), Harry Beckett and Henry Lowther (trompetas) o incluso Jack Bruce (bajo), músicos que aportarían composiciones propias al repertorio de la Orchestra, convirtiéndola en la raiz de la que florecería la escena jazz inglesa de los '70.

En 1972 la NJO se había disuelto ya, pero su legado permanecía en los trabajos de sus antiguos miembros. La pieza 'A Symphony Of Amaranths' de Neil Ardley es un perfecto ejemplo de lo que se cocía en la escena del UK Jazz. Es un tributo a sus ídolos Duke Ellington y Gil Evans, y en ella colaboran algunos de los más importantes músicos del movimiento, incluyendo a Don Rendell, Stan Tracey, Henry Lowther, Harry Beckett, Jeff Clyne y Jon Hiseman. La inspiración de la cara B del LP parte de textos de Edward Lear, W. B. Yeats, James Joyce y Lewis Carroll, musicados por Ardley, que nos ofrece momentos tan brillantes como la narración por parte de Ivor Cutler's de 'The Dong With A Luminous Nose' o la extraordinaria voz de Norma Winstone's interpretando 'Will You Walk A Little Faster'.

Musicians that parricipated in the recording sessions / Músicos que participaron en las sesiones de grabación :
- Derek Watkins, Nigel Carter, Henry Lowther, Harold Beckett (trumpets)
- Derek Wadsworth, Ray Premru (trombones)
- Dick Hart (tuba)
- Barbara Thompson, Dave Gelly, Don Rendell, Dick Heckstall-Smith (woodwind, saxes)
- John Clementson (oboe)
- Bunny Gould (bassoon)
- Dave Gelly (glockenspiel)
- Neil Ardley (prepared piano)
- David Snell, Sidonie Goossens (harp)
- Stan Tracey (piano, celeste)
- Karl Jenkins (electric piano)
- Alan Branscombe (harpsichord)
- Frank Ricotti (vibraphone, percussion)
- Chris Laurence, Jeff Clyne (bass)
- Jon Hiseman (drums, percussion)
- Eric Gruenberg, Jack Rothstein, Kelly Isaacs (violin)
- Ken Essex (viola)
- Charles Tunnell, Francis Gabarro (cello)
- Ivor Cutler (narrator)
- Norma Winstone (vocal)
- Jack Rothstein, Neil Ardley (conductors)

The Wah Wah reissue features newly mastered sound from the original tapes and will include one bonus track recorded in the same sessions. Limited to only 500 copies.

Similar items:
You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'or lfn = or lfn = or lfn = or lfn = or lfn = or lfn= or lfn =' at line 1